Creating a certificate for document with an IPFS hash

I’m totally new to blockcerts, so I’m really still thinking about how I could use it

I have a use case I’d like to achieve and I wonder if the community could advise me if this is possible with block certs.

Basically, I am publishing documents on the distributed IPFS http://ipfs.io network. Each document has an unique IPFS hash.

Then I want the academic societies I’m working with to be able to publish peer reviews on the same distributed network. These “reviews” would also be available on the IPFS system and addressable via a unique hash. I think of these “reviews” as the certificates. They would contain basic review information, like who reviewed, when they reviewed, what rubric they used in their review, etc.

What might be unique, however, is that I want these certificates to be issued, not to a person, but to the document they are approving.

So the “issuer” of the certificate would be the academic society, represented by their public key, the certificate would the hash of the review (referenced via its IPFS hash) and the recipient of the certificate would be the document addressed by its document hash (instead of the public key of a person).

Since, I’m using IPFS there is no need to store any of the review or document information on the block chain. We only need the hash, the content can retrieved from the ipfs network.

So I would imagine a “transaction” looking like the following.

Issuer:
Certificate: IPFS hash of review
Recipient: IPFS hash of document reviewed

Do you think this kind of transaction is something blockcerts could be used for, or is this wacky or just off base.

I know it might be unusual for the recipient of a certificate to be a document rather than a person, but it seem like it should still work, since the document has a hash just like a person has a public key.

Like I said, I’ve just started investigating Blockcert, so any references, pointers, would be much appreciated.

2 Likes