Identity problems with public key

Can anyone give me more details of the identity problems? We use public key and address as an Identity symbol. How to proof the public key belongs to whom. traditionally, identity is based on PKIs, how to deal with this problem in our project.

Hello, @Rujia,
My name is João, I’m a computer science student and am working on Blockcerts for my MSc thesis.
@kim can provide you with a much more comprehensive answer, but in short:
Blockcerts does not really take care of identity. The current mechanism relies on issuers to maintain a list of their pub keys (period in which each key was being used) and has a lot of undesirable properties.
Going forward I believe that an Identity system will be used, probably something related do distributed identity (DIDs). If you want to learn more about DIDs, the Rebooting the Web of Trust github repository has a lot of material.
You can start with this post, by Christopher Allen and @kim, which also contains references for other useful documents. You can also take a look at Christopher Allen’s twitter feed, it has a lot of useful info.
Cheers :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hello, João @joaosantos, it is so nice of you. I really appreciate the useful information you provide. The same to you, I’m also a computer science student and am working on Blockcerts for MSc thesis, I hope we can be good friends :grin: More specifically about my topic, I am trying to solve the public key security problems in the Blockcerts project.

“signature”: “IBCnkWta8tgY4Bq43nvPIserPpJx1oMyTN3BKejFVKpVQZyiFLJy4QFOzNFI=”,
“type”: “CertificateDocument”,
“verify”: {
“attribute-signed”: “uid”,
“signer”: “http://www.blockcerts.org/mockissuer/keys/got_public_key.asc”,
“type”: “ECDSA(secp256k1)”
}